Assoc. Prof. Dr. Seda Aksoy Esinoğlu and Asst. Prof. Dr. Mert Gür Receive Awards
Feb 07, 2017

Among those eligible for the Outstanding Young Scientist Award Program (GEBIP) announced at the end of October of last year, two of our academics have received their awards. The award is given each year by the Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA), in the fields of natural sciences, engineering, health sciences, and social sciences, and aims to encourage young scientists who increase the scientific accumulation of our country with their research.

tubagebip (3)

At the ceremony attended by President Mr. Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Department of Physics Engineering lecturer Assoc. Prof. Dr. Seda Aksoy Esinoğlu, and Department of Mechanical Engineering Asst. Prof. Dr. Mert Gür, were presented with their awards.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Seda Aksoy Esinoglu’s winning of the TÜBA-GEBİP Award is owing to her international studies of the properties of intermetallic magnetic alloys in experimental solid state physics and on nanomagnetism and nanoscale device manufacturing, publishing the results in prestigious scientific journals such as APL, PRB and Nature. Our faculty member also integrates basic sciences with health sciences, working on the production of magnetic nanoparticles by "laser ablation" and their use in the treatment of cancer.

tubagebip (1)

Department of Mechanical Engineering Assist. Prof. Dr. Mert Gür was awarded this year’s TÜBA-GEBİP award for his scientific work, entitled "The Effect of Cell Membrane in the Function of Cellular Tissue Proteins Targeting Neurological Drugs". Among the studies that stand out for Dr Gür’s earning of his award are numerous cited publications, including in respected journals such as Nature Communications, JBC, JCP, BJ and PLoS Bio, and presentations at international conferences and workshops. The main research subjects of our faculty member are: biomolecular machines and motors, computational simulation and modeling, molecular dynamic simulations, statistical mechanics and thermodynamics, food drying and drug design.

tubagebip (2)

The two young scientists whose studies have been deemed worthy of this award will receive financial support of 20,000 TL each year for 3 years. On behalf of the ITU Family, we congratulate Assoc. Prof. Dr. Seda Aksoy Esinoğlu and Asst. Prof. Dr. Mert Gür once again and wish for their continued success.

You can find the full list of winners of TÜBA-GEBİP award here.