Recipient of EGU Arthur Holmes Award from ITU
Oct 27, 2017

Our esteemed Professor Dr. Celal Şengör will receive the Arthur Holmes medal, one of the most valuable awards of the European Geosciences Union (EGU), in Vienna in April 2018. We congratulate him and, as always, we are proud of this very important achievement.

EGU has released the names for next year's Union Medal and Award recipients. According to this, among the 175 researchers who participated as candidates, our valuable professor, Prof. Dr. Celal Şengör was entitled to receive the Arthur Holmes medal, one of EGU's most valuable awards. Together with Prof. Dr. Şengör, 49 scientists from Europe and other countries, will be presented with awards in Vienna on April 8-13, 2018 for their important contribution to world, planetary and space sciences.

In addition to the 2018 Alliance Medal awards, the 2018 Division Medal and 2018 Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards will also be presented at the General Assembly of EGU 2018.

In addition to the Union Section Awards and Medals, EGU will also present a poster award to the students in the annual general assembly. The "Outstanding Student Poster" and "Presenting Interactive Content (OSSP-PICO)" aims to increase the overall quality of presentations and the students’ excitement of presenting at a major scientific conference.


Who is Prof. Dr. Celal Şengör?

Professor Dr. Celal Şengör was born on March 24, 1955 in Istanbul. He graduated from Robert Academy in 1973 and from the State University of New York at Albany in 1978 as a geologist. In 1979 he received his master’s, and in 1982 he received his doctorate from the same university. In 1981, he became a teaching assistant at the ITU Mining Faculty, General Geology Department.

In 1984 he received the "Presidential Award" of the Geological Society of London and in 1986 received the TUBITAK Science Award. In the same year, he became an associate professor in the Department of General Geology at the ITU Mining Faculty. In 1988 he received an honorary doctorate of science (Docteur ès sciences honoris case) from the Neuchâtel University Science Faculty.

He was elected to the Academia Europaea as the first Turkish member in 1990, the correspondent member of the Austrian Geological Service in the same year, and the Honor Society member of the Austrian Geological Society in 1991. In 1991, he won the Ministry of Culture's Information Age Award. In 1992, he was promoted to professor at the ITU Mining Faculty General Geology Department.

In 1993, he founded the Turkey Academy of Sciences, was elected to the academy council and was elected as a member of the Scientific Committee of TÜBİTAK in the same year. In 1994 he was elected as a member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, the French and American Geological Societies as an honorary member, and was awarded a Rammal Medal by the French Physics Society and the École Normale Supérieure Foundation. Dr. Şengör was awarded the great prize (Lutaud Prize) in the field of earth sciences by the French Academy of Sciences in 1997.

In May 1998, Sengor occupied the lectern as a guest professor at Collège de France, where he wrote "XIX. Contribution of French geologists to the development of tectonics in the 20th century" and received the Collège de France medal on 28 May 1998. In 1999 the London Geological Society gave him the Bigsby Medal.

In April 2000, he was elected the first Turkish member of the United States National Academy of Sciences.

In addition to Collège de France, Dr. Şengör has been a guest professor at Oxford (with a Royal Society Research Scholarship) in the UK, the California Institute of Technology (as Moore Distinguished Scholar) in the USA, and a visiting professor at Lodron-Paris University in Salzburg, Austria.